Hampshire News | New Cabinet for Hampshire County Council | Andover & VillagesThe newly elected Members of Hampshire County Council have re-elected Councillor Roy Perry as the County Council Leader.

At the County Council’s Annual General Meeting, the new administration was formally established, where Councillor Perry was officially appointed as the County Council Leader.

The meeting was the first of the Authority since elections on 4 May 2017. The County Council comprises 78 seats, made up of 56 Conservatives, 19 Liberal Democrats, two Labour Party Members, and one Member from the Community Campaign (Hart).

As Leader of the majority political party on the County Council, Councillor Perry heads up the Authority in delivering the range of essential local services that impact on all aspects of everyday life for 1.3 million people living in the Hampshire County Council area – from education, roads and social care, to access to the countryside and libraries.

Commenting on his appointment, Councillor Perry said: “I am grateful to my colleagues for placing their confidence in me as their Leader, for another term. I am particularly grateful to my Deputy Leader, Keith Mans, and other Executive Members, who work hard, day-in and day-out for Hampshire residents.

“It’s not been easy to set budgets and steer Hampshire in a time of austerity, and with many pressures on our services, but we work well as a team, and supported by excellent officers. Hampshire County Council is well regarded across the whole country and I count myself fortunate to be leading one of England’s best county councils.”

Councillor Perry confirmed the Members of the new County Council Cabinet. These are:

Cllr Roy Perry – Leader of Hampshire County Council, & Executive Member for Policy and Resources

Cllr Keith Mans – Deputy Leader of Hampshire County Council, & Executive Lead Member for Children’s Services

Cllr Peter Edgar – Executive Member for Education

Cllr Liz Fairhurst – Executive Member for Adult Social Care and Health

Cllr Andrew Gibson – Executive Member for Culture, Recreation and Countryside

Cllr Rob Humby – Executive Member for Environment & Transport

Cllr Andrew Joy – Executive Member for Communities, Partnerships and External Affairs (including the impact of Brexit on the affairs of Hampshire)

Cllr Mel Kendal – Executive Member for Economic Development

Cllr Stephen Reid – Executive Member for Human Resources and Performance

Cllr Patricia Stallard – Executive Member for Public Health (including responsibilities for Supporting Troubled Families and for Emergency Planning)

Councillor Edward Heron will serve as Assistant to the Executive Members, and Rural Affairs Champion.

The new Cabinet will meet for the first time on 19 June.

Polly has almost 20 years in the media industry. As Editor of Andover and Villages, she strives to bring the latest and greatest news with a minutes notice. Polly can be contacted via editor@andoverandvillages.co.uk or alternatively called at