John Hanson Big WriteOn Tuesday, 6th, July John Hanson Community School hosted its first Big Write Prize Giving and Award Ceremony. Pupils (and staff) across all years have worked tirelessly on their Big Write entries during their Tutor Time Literacy sessions during Term 6, and now we begged to find out who would be victorious!

The Big Write was designed to allow pupils the opportunity to express their ideas in a creative way, whilst developing a range of literacy skills including spelling, punctuation, vocabulary, paragraphing and even playing with sentence structures for effect. Moreover, the theme for Big Write 2015, ‘Victory’, allowed for pupils to reflect on their personal success stories as well as famous victories that inspire them. Some of the most popular topics our pupils wrote about included: sporting successes, fantastic fantasy fiction and overcoming personal hardships.

We were joined by some very special VIP guests to help us judge our winners, and I would like to take this opportunity to thank each and every one of them for joining us in celebrating our pupils work. Many thanks to:

Bryan Beggs, Charlotte Bullimore, Gill Coward, Juliana Farha, Cathy Hookey, Helen Jackman, Sarah Kitching, Tracey Preston, Ben Tallon, John Taylor and Judi Weston.

I would also like to thank our many sponsors and associates for their generous donations for our wonderful prizes as outlined below:

Adecco, Andover Frames , Be Wiser Insurance, Finkley Down Farm, The Hawk Conservancy, Just Bikes, Sainsbury’s, Science Museum (London), Tesco, Thruxton Race Track, Waterstones, as well as our Governor’s David Weston, Ian Morrison and Sara Falk.

After much deliberation the judges made their final decisions; this work was then celebrated in a special Prize Giving and Award Ceremony. All pupils were gathered together for the very special announcements. There were nine victorious winners in each year group; they are as follows:


Year 7
Lauren   Welch
Rachel   Mason
Katie   Sneddon
David   Joyce
Emma   Janes
Abi   Wells
Erin   Pettitt
Jasmine   Baker 
Alize   Bates
Year 8
Megan   Andrews
Bethany   Rosier
Maia   Redden
James   Adcock
Hannah   Taylor
Cameron   Fury
Abi   Woolaston
Charlotte   Clothier
Sam   Lewis
Year 9
Sammy   Jones
Charlotte   Knight
Zoe   Grimison
Thomas   Walker
Caitlin   Ford
Alex   Kynaston
Freya   Higgins
Lucie   Fairgrieves
Emily   Scamell
Year 10
Tiana   Davies
Jase   Jasper
Ryan   Tomlinson
Sebastian   Baynes
Mark   Hillier
Evie   Cleden
Samantha   Lucas
Megan   White
Amy   Jones
Julia   Pitt
Paul Brown
Ian   Coombs

Moreover, we awarded Platinum awards to the two most outstanding pieces of writing: Rachel Mason in Year 7 and Sammy Jones of Year 9 were also granted a Kindle HD Fire, alongside their individual prizes and a day trip to The Science Museum in London including exclusive use of the IMAX cinema (all our winners will join Sammy and Rachel on this trip), for their fantastic efforts.

Many pupils, staff and our judges commented on what a wonderful celebration the Big Write was, Cathy Hookey said “It was wonderful to see the creativity of so many young minds, and be a part of celebrating their writing”.

So now, we look forward to building on the successes of Big Write 2015 to see what our pupils write about in next year’s Big Write 2016! If you’d like to get involved as a sponsor or as a judge next year, please contact Beth Hookey or Anna Robinson at John Hanson Community School.

Polly has almost 20 years in the media industry. As Editor of Andover and Villages, she strives to bring the latest and greatest news with a minutes notice. Polly can be contacted via or alternatively called at