Harrow Way class of 2015 Celebrated in Motivational and Inspiring Style

Harrow Way, named in the ‘2015 Top 50 List of the Most Improved Schools in the Country’, recognised and celebrated the success and achievement of their class of 2015 this week at the school’s annual Presentation Evening. Special guest Jim Roberson, renowned motivational speaker, once again worked his magic leaving students with inspirational words and former Harrow Way student, Great Britain gymnast Jenna Barrett presented prizes to the evening’s award winners.

The Presentation Evening concludes a successful year for Harrow Way with a proud Headteacher Michael Serridge commenting: “We celebrated many accolades and successes throughout the year and it is always incredibly pleasing to recognise the biggest success of all – that of our students. This year group committed themselves to their learning and, expertly guided by our talented teachers,went on to achieve exceptionally well. We are all very proud of their efforts and the results this delivered for them.”

With the opportunity to once again inspire the students before presenting the GCSE certificates and subject awards Jim Roberson didn’t disappoint. Having previously worked with the former Year 11s he congratulated them saying: “You’re doing great! Keep doing what you’re doing and take pride in your achievements – put your certificates up on the wall and take pride in where you are heading.”

Jim’s mantra is the ‘power of an education’ and he was keen to emphasise that education and learning is the key to a successful future. He reminded the students that respect, cooperation and values can all help lead towards a good future.

A very special part of the evening is the presentation of the awards. Headteacher Michael Serridge was particularly proud to welcome back former student Jenna Barrett who he said had trained immensely hard to get to the level of an elite international gymnast and shown grit and determination to fight back from injury. So committed is Jenna to her sport that she had to leave the event early to continue with her training but not before presenting the awards which recognise individual students for each of the curriculum subjects. Those who had achieved academic excellence were celebrated, as were students who demonstrated persistence, dedication and effort.

A very special part of the evening is the trophy presentation, the winners of which are always a closely guarded secret and names revealed on the night were:

The Rotary Prize – presented to Victoria Jones

Donated by The Rotary Club of Andover and presented by Club President, Mr Richard Akister, for Community Vocational Service ‘Service Above Self’.

The Library Prize – presented to Adam Tilbury

Plate donated by Jo Ray, School Librarian 1995-2001, for dedication and commitment to the Library.

The Darling Cup – presented to Emily Gibbs

In Memory of Richard Darling, for outstanding contribution to Music

The Chris Overton Cup – presented to Stanley North

Prize donated by Chris Overton, former Headteacher, for Sporting Achievement

The Rob Hudson Cup – presented to Brandon Smith

Cup donated by RobHudson, retired teacher at Harrow Way for 35 years, for Outstanding contribution to PE and School Sport

The ‘Le Creuset’ Cup – presented to Holly Wheeler

Cup donated by Le Creuset, for outstanding performance in Catering

The Chris Overton Shield – presented to Lucas Boulton

Shield donated by Chris Overton, former Headteacher, for Performing Arts

The Veale/Scicluna Shield – presented to Peter Josephs

Shield donated by former English Teachers, Margaret Veale and John Scicluna, for excellence in English and Media

The Harrow Way Communications Trophy – presented to Alexander Roberts

Trophy donated by Owen Paterson, for outstanding contribution to ICT

The Office Depot Shield – presented to Kiera Jansen

Shield donated by Office Depot, for outstanding contribution and achievement in Mathematics and Computing

The Partner West Africa Award – presented to Callum Cook

Trophy donated by Sandy Craig of Partner West Africa for Rights Respecting Commitment

The Will Dyke Cup – presented to William Cooper

Cup donated by John Tacey, former Vice-chair of Governors, presented by Brian Dyke for Exceptional Contribution to School Life

The Burbidge Shield – presented to Pheobe Edwards

Shield donated by Becky Burbidge, former Chair of Governors, for Community Spirit

The Harrow Way Trophy – presented to Alice Barker

For always being your best

The Harrow Way Shield presented to Patricia Alfama

For Outstanding Personal Achievement

The Harrow Way Cup – presented to Hannah Allmark

To the Best allrounder

The Anne King Shield – presented to Katie Guildford and Peter Josephs

The Highest Academic Achiever

Presentations to Head Boy and Head Girl 2014-2015

Katie Guildford and Peter Josephs

For more information on Harrow Way Community School, please call 01264 364533 or visit www.harroway.hants.sch.uk. Visits to the school by appointment are always welcome.

Polly has almost 20 years in the media industry. As Editor of Andover and Villages, she strives to bring the latest and greatest news with a minutes notice. Polly can be contacted via editor@andoverandvillages.co.uk or alternatively called at