Ten bronze plaques and four new information signs have been installed in Andover to mark the town’s heritage trail.

Starting at the Town Mills, where wheat was ground into flour until the 1960s, the trail’s highlights include the decorative Time Ring on the High Street, the Norman Arch – the only surviving section of the Andover Church – and St Mary’s Church which was re-built in 1856 after resisting several attempts of demolition. The trail reveals what happened next and it ends at the Andover Museum where guests can immerse themselves in the finer details of the past.

Leader of the Council, Councillor Phil North, said: “The Andover Vision partnership found that local people wanted to celebrate the town’s history and heritage more. The re-launch of the heritage trail is a fun and interactive way to learn more about the past and bring history to life. We are very grateful to have received funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund to make the project possible.”

Test Valley Borough Council is currently inviting artists to submit ideas for two murals that will complete the Heritage Trail. The designs should provide visuals that animate two of the heritage locations; the Old Jail on Bridge Street and the Angel Inn yard in the High Street, and provide a coherent theme to the existing trail. Anyone interested can find out more on the Public Art Commissions page at www.testvalley.gov.uk.

Participants can download the trail’s map and audio accompaniment at www.testvalley.gov.uk/AndoverHeritageTrail.

Polly has almost 20 years in the media industry. As Editor of Andover and Villages, she strives to bring the latest and greatest news with a minutes notice. Polly can be contacted via editor@andoverandvillages.co.uk or alternatively called at